2017 Herd Fellows Scholarship Winners

Jul 14, 2017

Announcing 2017 Grassfed Exchange “Herd Fellows”

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2nd Annual Herd Fellowship scholarship program for young farmers and ranchers to attend the 2017 Grassfed Exchange conference on September 27-29, 2017 in Albany, NY. 

Due to a generous grant from the folks at The Herd with support from White Oak Pastures, we are able to grant a total of 27 scholarships to young daughters, sons, veterans and interns from 20 different US states to attend the 2017 conference.  An additional 11 alternates have been identified in the event that the primary scholars are unable to attend.

Dr. Jason Rowntree of Michigan State University, and Chair of The Grassfed Exchange, offers, “The Grassfed Exchange is excited about the quality of young people and veterans that will once again enrich the 2017 conference.  These folks are agriculture’s future.  We are thankful to the scholarship sponsors who are aware of the challenges today in farm transitions and passionately step forward to support the growth of the next generation in agriculture.”


The 2017 Herd Fellows are (in alphabetical order):

Full Ride
• Tim Auld (Lockhart, TX)
• Lacey Barker (Waynoka, OK)
• Shawna Burhans (Los Molinos, CA)
• Mariah Boatright (Boonville, MO)
• Kohl Carter (Lexington, VA)
• Ashley Greenhaigh (Guide Rock, NE)
• Natasha Paris (Green Lake, WI)
• Ashley Pierce (Worcester, NY)
• Carter Powell (Washburn , ND)
• Isaac Welsh (Brodhead, WI)

Tuition Only
• Dennis Atiyeh (Schnecksville, PA)
• David Boatright (Boonville, MO)
• Michael Bolster (Fort Plain, NY)
• Sadie Bolze (Chadron, NE)
• Kyle Brisendine (Homer, MI)
• Caitlin Carpenter (Mason, MI)
• Nicolas De Gregorio (Glen Ridge, NJ)
• Diana Grenawalt (Beloit, WI)
• Isaiah Clark Jones (Prophetstown, IL)
• Craig Allan Livsey (Morrisonville, NY)
• Rachel Morgan Martin (East Lansing, MI)
• Anne Preston (Shelburne Falls, MA)
• Eliana Kate Riemer (Brodhead, WI)
• Kyle Runkle (Lambertville, NJ)
• Lori Schnoor (Maquoketa, IA)
• Nicole Scott (Valley Cottage, NY)
• Ryan Sullivan (Manitowoc, WI)


Should any of the above scholars be unable to accept their scholarship, or if additional funds become available the following candidates are alternates.

• Emily Arensman (Rutherford College, NC)
• Trent Cadra (Shamrock, TX)
• Elizabeth Cunningham (Jordan Valley, OR)
• Sean Cunningham (Jordan Valley, NY)
• John Filbrun (West Alexandria, OH)
• Sophia Hoss (Sisseton, SD)
• Caleb Kress (Hudson, NY)
• Nicholas Robert Nelson (Midland, MI)
• Jennifer Perchak (Spencer, MA)
• Jessica Stoncypher (Zanesville, OH)
• Paul Tilyer (Canterbury, NH)

We congratulate this next generation of farmers and ranchers, and invite you to come along and meet them in Albany, NY September 27-29. 

Join the Newsletter

Get the latest conference updates

Get Registered Now

Register Now